Sunday, June 13, 2004

The aggression thingy

Eh, well perhaps your right. Gotta see the replays which I haven't done yet. But well yea think I should really out on a really more aggressive stance towards the opponents. Most of the time, I build up a sizeable force before attacking the opponent. Should keep on applying the pressure and attack, rather than just sit back and zhuo bo. Lol.

And detection. I'm getting increasingly used to using Terran, and Terrans don't have detection till much later in the game, if you exclude missile turrets and the comsat station. Like you can get owned by opponent defensive cloaked units when you are attacking. Comsat at max energy you can only use it 5 times in a row. So thats really a big huge disadvantage of using Terrans. So how do I solve this problem? The solution is currently still pending, will tell you all when I figure it out. Haha.

Gonna sc for awhile before watching euro. :)

the 2v2 match

Had a 2v2 match with clanmates just now. Won the first with xuan, then lost the 2nd one to chiong and zw. It made me realized of some things that I needed to rectify in the future.

Firstly, I think my main weakness is not the lack of aggression, but the total lack of micro-management. In the 2nd match, that was evident as I sent my troops to the hot spots then turn my eye to other things like building things and stuff. Then meanwhile my troops are getting killed. And I'm still building and training and stuff. Man. When I turn back my attention to my troops, surprise surprise, they all disappeared! Why? Because they all have been killed. Even though I had quite a large group of troops, it can be easily be defeated by the opponent if he/she mircos properly against me. Thats why I lost the 2nd match. Too many soldiers wasted. Plus not able to keep my expansion base. And the lack of air units. It all too evident as in the 2nd match I did not build any air units at all. So that about sums up my analysis of my loss.

And about what chiong said about me being too defensive, I think thats not entirely true because I normally attack and rush the opponent very early, applying pressure to them. But after that first wave, I don't really attack much because I concentrate more on building my army and the base. Which is bad because I wait for a damn long time before attacking. Plus my bad bad microing, my large army can become decimated pretty easily. Thats what I think I need to improve on. Gotta apply pressure thoughout the whole game, and while doing this micro properly. I do apply pressure, but the pressure is like nothing, because my soldiers keep dying! Thats another weak point! My damn soldiers keep getting wasted!

Lol. So I guess thats about everything I have got to say. Perhaps theres more, but I wanna watch Euro 2004 now. Portugal vs Greece. Portugal 2-0 down at this moment of time. WTF. ROFL.

Thursday, June 10, 2004

Yo!

First time I am posting here, think this is kinda cool.

I got my battle chest a few days ago, and I've begun playing with ZW and xuan on b.net, and with chiong when on LAN. Guess we 4 can do it, knowing how to cover each other and stuff. But there are still a few issues that need to be attended to, like our defence, which often is not that good. For me, I get hit pretty bad if I get rushed early in the game, so I gotta revise my strategy so that I can fend off the early zergling rushes. Also, as chiong said, need to employ the use of air units. When I played terran just now, I did not use any air units at all. It causes quite an imbalance I think, because if you can conquer the air space then it'll be much easier. Perhaps I'll try to employ wraiths into my tactics too. Hmm. Haha.

Damn lots of crap posted. Lol. Hope no one kills me over this. I am currently trying to go download the no cd patch for SC so that it'll be more convenient. And perhaps check out some strategies at starcraft.org

Hope I can play with the rest of them later on! :D